Excuse Me, Would You Say You Have “Angst?”

Lindsay gives great love/life/web-design advice. Tonight, she told me, “You know what your problem is, Maureen?” You are going after the wrong kind of guy. You need a guy with some….some….ANGST!”

I said, “Haha, angst? oooook” Even over the phone, she could tell I was skeptical.

So, she continued,”Yeah, like take that typical blue-collared construction worker/lumberjack type you typically find yourself attracted to, cover him with a full sleeve of tattoos and give him some angst and I bet it would work out.”

After we hung up (because I was supposed to go to sleep instead of start blogging) I decided to Google “dudes with angst” to see what was in store for me if I were to seek out construction-type-worker-with-angst.

This is what I got:

 

Let’s take a closer look, shall we:

 

I guess I can see the angst in Keanu. He has sad eyes and is not smiling in the photo. He is also dressed all in black and has haphazardly messy hair. I guess I’d give him a shot, at least let him take me out for a drink and see how the conversation goes. Initially, I would guess he is not my type, but who knows? Stranger things have happened. I love the blog post where I found this picture of him. It’s called “The Fifteen Biggest Dudes of All Time” and covers everyone from Bob Dylan to Fight Club Brad Pitt.

 

But a girl has to have options, right? Let’s see what other “dudes with angst” Google was able to corral for me.

 

From: mildlyselfdefeating.blogspot.com

Seriously? Is anyone surprised to see this kid pop up in my Google search? Um, no. Don’t get me wrong, he’s endearing and adorable and I loved Zombieland, but I think he’s more my little sister’s type. MugFace knows all about teen angst.

And then, I found him! My angsty soul mate:

 

From archive.popsgustav.com

James Dean! Yes please! The blog I found this picture linked to turned out to be quite the little gem: The 10 Most Angsty Guys in Movie History. I love it! And I went through to see if anyone had been left off my Google search. James Dean is certainly in a league of his own (especially when compared to angsters “The Wolfman” and “Charlie Brown.”

I think I might need a guy with some angst. If he has James Dean angst. Normally, I figure that since I bring enough drama and disaster into relationships, I should find a plain meat-and-potatoes kinda guy, but obviously that hasn’t worked for me.

Lindsay, I’m going to give it a shot! I’ll ask the next guy that makes eye contact with me if he has angst. If the answer is yes, I’ll make my intentions known! If he says no, I’ll walk on by. No more wasting time with non-angsty boys.

SWF seeks lumberjack with angst.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Featured, Hope Chest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Excuse Me, Would You Say You Have “Angst?”

  1. Lindsay says:

    See? I got you thinking about your IDEAL man.. not just the ideal looking man, or the “good on paper” man.. Now, James Dean might be a hard one to find, but go for it!!! Be open, they might not have the James Dean hair, but give it a chance..

    I have to admit though, when you mentioned James Dean I instantly thought about Clueless. Remember the guy that Cher fell in love with had the whole angsty James Dean look and he ended up being gay.. so just be careful 🙂

    I too love Michael Cerra but couldn’t really see him as the person for me.. he needs to be paired with an equally as cute awkward little girl.

    As far as the type of angst I was thinking of…..

    I have been in LOVE with Trent for years.. since high school. VERY filled with angst and very pretty but also tough with big arms.

  2. T says:

    This post made me smile. I’d suffer through some angst in exchange for some James Dean… Heath Ledger in 10 Things also came to mind – hotdamn!

  3. Ermodi says:

    Angst. It’s the new Black. For Men.

  4. Pingback: relationship advice » Blog Archive » Love Potion Number 529

Comment Here!!!

