The Idea of Falling in Love – or, Shit Just Freaking Happens

I was recently asked if I use my OK Cupid Profile for mere column fodder or if I’m actually looking for true love.

w-o-w. Loaded question.

I answered from the top of my head, off the cuff, without a second thought, from the bottom of my heart.

You could argue that all single people are looking for true love, but I guess it’s safe to say that I have very low expectations of finding it here and now. Of course, I don’t want to discount the possibility of it happening, because, although entirely inconvenient at this point in my life, I’m not against the idea of falling in love. I know that love comes to you in life and you don’t get much say in it. Shit just freaking happens. It’s really impossible to plan for, and if you look too hard, you’re either going to fool yourself into seeing love where it isn’t and get your heartbroken, or you’re going to be looking for your idea of love so exuberantly that you miss opportunities because you are closed off to the possibility of love not fitting in the mold of your expectations.

Dating is fun. I love it. I love writing about it. But I don’t date because I have a column. I have a column because I date and I’m honest about how awkward meeting people can be – and I like to poke fun at it and make people laugh! If you can’t laugh, you just go home alone and cry! Honestly, dating should not be taken too seriously – not at least at this introductory level. It should become serious – but a first date should be fun! That’s why people are supposed to do it – because they like it! Dating shouldn’t just be seen as a means to an end when it is a good thing in and of itself.

He found my answer acceptable and I expect he’ll ask me out after the obligatory 3-day waiting period. I found my answer profound and decided it belonged on my blog.

Let me know if you want me to autograph anything. I’m feeling very celebrity lately. Maybe one of these days, I’ll go out and someone will recognize me as the dating column girl.

 

No pictures, please!

 

 

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Advice of the Solicited and Un Kind, Featured, Hope Chest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Idea of Falling in Love – or, Shit Just Freaking Happens

  1. T says:

    What an awesome pickup line “hey, so, I’d like a chance to be blogged about – can I get your number?”

Comment Here!!!

