Billy Joel Gets Me

A lot of people think that they “get” me; they quickly shove me in a little box, stick a label or two on it and write me off as a [insert whatever here]. IT DRIVES ME CRAZY. As soon as someone has me “all figured out” they stop listening to me – they are no longer open to the idea that I may deviate from their preconceived notions of who I am. This is why I had to Facebook de-friend Sailor Ryan.

There are only three labels I love and recognize for myself: Leo, ENFP, and Free Spirit.

Astrology Online gives a very in-depth analysis of my first label, Leo. It was hard for me to cut anything out of this, as I like everything they say about Leos, but I’d hate to make you read ALL of it, so in brief:

The Leo type is the most dominant, spontaneously creative and extroverted of all the zodiacal characters. In grandeur of manner, splendor of bearing and magnanimity of personality, they are the monarch’s among humans as the lion is king of beasts. They are ambitious, courageous, dominant, strong willed, positive, independent, self-confident there is no such a word as doubt in their vocabularies, and they are self-controlled. Born leaders, either in support of, or in revolt against, the status quo. They are uncomplicated, knowing exactly what they want and using all their energies, creativeness and resolution to get it. Their followers know where they are with Leonians. Leonians think and act bigger than others would normally dare.

On the whole they are powers for good, for they are strongly idealistic, humane, and beneficent. They have powerful intelligence and are of a broad philosophical, sometimes religious, turn of mind.

In his or her relations with others the Leo type is open, sincere, genuine and trusting. Outgoing, spontaneously warm hearted and plain spoken, though never lacking in kindliness, Leos are more disillusioned than the average if let down by those they trust. They are not good judges of character and are inclined to favoritism and an exaggerated faith in their followers which too often ends in disappointment.

As much as it pains me to cut anything out of my personalitypage.com ENFP profile (it really is the best personality preference), I am striving for a better understanding of the word “brevity,” so, here’s me:

As an ENFP, your primary mode of living is focused externally, where you take things in primarily via your intuition. Your secondary mode is internal, where you deal with things according to how you feel about them, or how they fit in with your personal value system.

ENFPs are warm, enthusiastic people, typically very bright and full of potential. They live in the world of possibilities, and can become very passionate and excited about things. Their enthusiasm lends them the ability to inspire and motivate others, more so than we see in other types. They can talk their way in or out of anything. They love life, seeing it as a special gift, and strive to make the most out of it.

ENFPs are good at most things which interest them.  To onlookers, the ENFP may seem directionless and without purpose, but ENFPs are actually quite consistent, in that they have a strong sense of values which they live with throughout their lives. Everything that they do must be in line with their values. An ENFP needs to feel that they are living their lives as their true Self, walking in step with what they believe is right. They see meaning in everything, and are on a continuous quest to adapt their lives and values to achieve inner peace.

Most ENFPs have great people skills. They are genuinely warm and interested in people, and place great importance on their inter-personal relationships. ENFPs almost always have a strong need to be liked. They have an exceptional ability to intuitively understand a person after a very short period of time, and use their intuition and flexibility to relate to others on their own level.

Because ENFPs live in the world of exciting possibilities, the details of everyday life are seen as trivial drudgery.

Finally, Free Spirit – I’d hate to let anyone define this for me except me. I proudly wear the label Free Spirit because to me, it means that I don’t recognize boundaries. I live and love without any concept of “too much.” I feel. A lot. And I’m ok with that. I go where the wind takes me, whether or not it make sense to anyone else and I’ll always invite people along, but going alone would never deter me. I pursue dreams others don’t imagine. I’m adventurous. Sometimes I make bad choices. I don’t listen to the word “no” and tend not to care if other people don’t approve of what I’m doing (unfortunately, I do care if they approve of me….and I probably always will….) Knowing that my head can often be too hot and my gut instinct might just be indigestion, I just follow my heart.

So far, the only man who has ever truly been able to express a real understanding of me is Billy Joel in his song, Always a Woman. Here’s what he says:

She can kill with a smile
She can wound with her eyes
She can ruin your faith with her casual lies
And she only reveals what she wants you to see
She hides like a child,
But she’s always a woman to me

She can lead you to love
She can take you or leave you
She can ask for the truth
But she’ll never believe you
And she’ll take what you give her, as long as it’s free
Yeah, she steals like a thief
But she’s always a woman to me

CHORUS:
Oh–she takes care of herself
She can wait if she wants
She’s ahead of her time
Oh–and she never gives out
And she never gives in
She just changes her mind

And she’ll promise you more
Than the Garden of Eden
Then she’ll carelessly cut you
And laugh while you’re bleedin’
But she’ll bring out the best
And the worst you can be
Blame it all on yourself
Cause she’s always a woman to me

CHORUS

She is frequently kind
And she’s suddenly cruel
She can do as she pleases
She’s nobody’s fool
And she can’t be convicted
She’s earned her degree
And the most she will do
Is throw shadows at you
But she’s always a woman to me

 

Yeah, he pretty much nailed it.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Featured and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Billy Joel Gets Me

  1. Rachel says:

    So I’m thinking you haven’t heard they re-did the astrology signs this year. You’re a cancer now. Seriously!

  2. Ermodi says:

    No, Rachel, I heard. You might as well be trying to tell me that I have cancer, rather than I am a cancer! I DENY IT!! I don’t care if the stars realigned themselves or what, but I was BORN under the sun sign LEO and that MEANS I AM A LEO FOR LIFE! I am really uncomfortable with the idea of downgrading to a lesser astrological sign when Leo is clearly the best. Babies born on August 9, 1984 remain Leos, for the record.

  3. Rachel says:

    Hahahaha. Ok, I take it back. I also refuse to believe I’m some unknown sign called ophiuchus now. I’m with you, sagitarius for life!

  4. T says:

    Dude, I totally get you!

    Haa haa.

Comment Here!!!

