You Never Inspired Poetry

I knew it was only a matter of time before I started putting my poems up on my blog….

This one is a little over a year old, but I just stumbled across it and thought I’d throw it up here.

You Never Inspired Poetry – An Exception

When you left

in such a sudden, unexpected way

tossing me aside like a once treasured childhood toy,

who promised to bring no happiness or use in the future

a look, a sigh,

and thrown out – without additional thought

oh, it was so easy for you, wasn’t it?

To make up your mind

and follow through

win one swift motion – you cut your losses

and left me alone to pick up the pieces

shocked.

I turned immediately to my journal

thinking I could write a way to make sense of the broken promises

thinking I could answer the begging why

and over time

I found there are no questions worth the answer

no reasons to validate your decision

There is not one fucking excuse for you.

And I am ashamed to think I even tried looking for a reason

to excuse you

to explain you

to understand who you really are

But that time has past

and, like my own childhood toys

you are boxed up and forgotten

in the basement of my father’s house

And my journal is clean

because in all of my writings

there was not one poem

you ever inspired in me

(except for this one).

 

The End.

Finally.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Here!!!