I Believe In Love

Or, I used to believe in something like Love. I wrote this at 10:56 pm on Wednesday, July 8, 2009.

I believe in Love.

I believe in the “kiss-until-your-lips-are-chapped-love” that transforms into “talk-until-you-lose-your-voice-or-fall-asleep-or-run-out-of-phone-battery-every-night kind of love.”

I believe in the “let’s just stay in tonight with Chinese food,” know each other’s coffee orders (and that you can’t drink yours until it cools to the perfect temperature), wake you up in the middle of the night to tell you about my bad dream/good dream/tummy ache, take care of each other when one of us is sick, fight over everything but stay mad over nothing, I can look you in the eye and see my future kind of love.

I believe in the I-cook-you-clean, thanks for taking the trash out because I hate doing it, let’s just accept that we will always fight over the covers, hold my hand when we are walking together, make me melt with every kiss, can’t decide on one song to be “our song,” maybe we should try raising a puppy together kind of love.

I believe in love that defies the odds of increasing divorce rates/statistics proving high children of divorced parents are likely to divorce rates/arguments that prove all guys have biologically-implanted tendencies to cheat and most of them will in some way or another. I believe in the love that reflects and refracts a divine love straight from the heavens, always loyal, always true, trusting, patient, gentle and kind; a love that is a mirror on this earth showing the face of God himself.

I believe in a beautiful love that your every day ordinary schmuck can unknowingly stumble upon.

I believe in a love that uncontrollably sweeps through life as you know it and redefines your place on this planet.

I believe in fitting perfectly on your shoulder; sharing bills, food, laughter, tears; and taking trips together.

I believe in love whispered on the breezes of your voice in my ear and inhaled in the scent of your skin.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Hope Chest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Believe In Love

  1. Pingback: It’s Like a Journey, Ya Know? - notme2night.com

Comment Here!!!

