The Way of the World

My baby sister Molly paid me a visit last week all the way from Gonzaga University (Go Zags!) in Spokane, Washington. I loved having her in Connecticut with me. She’s been my most trusted friend and sidekick for 20 years (sorry Emily, you broke the trust when you ate all of my Easter candy right off the back tip top shelf of my closet back in 1994). The cool thing about best friends that have lasted through the decades is they can always tell you something new about yourself – and vice versa.

This trip, I was able to tell Molly that her slow and leisurely west coast strut was cramping my NYC style. After a full day in the city, we walked from Chinatown to Grand Central (about 3 miles) – at my pace. I did not only want to get an off-peak train back to New Haven, I wanted to get the first off-peak train back to New Haven at 8:04 p.m. I made her hoof it. In her flip flops.

When we got to the train station, we were early. I said it was ok to pause for a picture. I told her we should capture the moment.

Here’s the moment:

At first, it may look like Molly is smiling also – trust me, she is scowling. She just has a little cupid bow mouth that always turns up at the ends, even when daggers of hate are flying from her eyes. You know what I call this picture? Karma.

You wanna know why? Because on the train ride to New York, Molly said something….unforgivable.

Molly….said….”You know, you’re turning into MOM!”

Here’s another moment for you:

Shock: Me? Turning into my mother?

Another moment:

It’s starting to sink in…..yes, I am turning into my mother….

Now, Ma told me to stop blogging about her because one time I used our relationship as template for my other friends to use in dealing with their crazy mothers and one time I honored her by sharing some of my craziest mother-daughter memories.

I’ll never stop blogging about my mom – even though she keeps threatening to ground me. I live 2 time zones away, Ma! How you going to enforce that one!? HUH?

And, since she recently had a birthday, I’d like to toast her by sharing my proof that Molly was right – I’m becoming my mother. And it’s not all bad (crazy, but not bad).

Signs and Symptoms of Metamorphosis from Daughter into Her Mother:
I take my glass of wine to bed with me – every night – and don’t always drink it all before I fall asleep. That would have never happened a year ago.
I can’t talk on my cell phone while I’m grocery shopping or I end up spending two hours at the grocery store and with a bunch of random items in my cart (wasabi rice crackers,  dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds and imported sheep cheese?)
I tell people the same story over and over again and even when they interrupt me to say they’ve heard it before, I nod and keep talking anyway
I laugh so hard that I can’t keep my eyes open, catch my breath, or stand up straight – I inherited my mother’s debilitating laughter.
I have double jointed fingers
I make really obvious observations regarding my surroundings, like, “Wow, the sun is bright when you look at it!”
I fall asleep in movies – even in movie theaters

Clearly, I’m well on the path towards being my mom. Before I know it, I’ll be drinking wine out of the box, buying take-and-bake pizzas, wearing lipstick in colors like “twig” and going to Super Cuts.

I guess there are worse fates.

I love you mom, happy (late) birthday!

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Featured and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Way of the World

  1. ferdian says:

    i like your post realy be happy….wondefull

  2. lol This was a great post! I love your writing style. Your mom seems like she’s been an amazing mother 🙂

  3. Clo says:

    you knock the box of wine, but we know the truth..

  4. sukanya says:

    what a lovely tribute to your mom…you are blessed to have each other! love the obvious observations…i am like that in some ways.
    happy belated birthday to Maureen’s mom 🙂

Comment Here!!!

