The Handy Man Hunt – Phase 1

I get almost as much inspiration from the people who leave comments on my Dating Column as I do from classic films, romantic comedies and wacky self-help books.

This week was no exception!

Pete, someone who has sporadically commented on my articles from the very first one said:

10:59 pm on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I was married once for 18 yrs got divorced once I retired been single ever since hate the single part as I age and wish my dogs knew how to drive. Maybe finding someone with a good head on his shoulders might work being u are a coastie he needs to have a brain try home depot At least he could unclog your drains.

Krista, a new commenter backed him up with:

7:58 pm on Monday, December 5, 2011

It’s funny though Maureen. I met my husband the first weekend I moved to CT- July 2000, he was the bartender. Later he took a teaching job at the school where I first taught when I moved here. We only spoke if it was for a professional reason. Fours years after that first meeting we had a first date and the rest is marriage and two children. Sometimes you have to be ready. I don’t think either of us was truly ready to settle down those fours years we never even really spoke to each other. Once we were ready, he asked me out, and I had always thought he was good looking. But you are right in the dating scene is rough. I hated it. I like you, did the bar thing, went on those quick date nights and tried to meet people through friends. But Pete might be on to something! At the home depot, you find an awesome kind of guy (mine is teacher turned carpenter)- and those guys often stop at Dunkin Donuts in the morning for their coffee rather then Starbucks if you need a second place to start. And while it is true that they might be able to clear the drain, there might be something to knowing that you have a guy who isn’t afraid to get his hands dirty!

And I decided Pete and Krista just might be onto something….

It’s time to plan a Handy-Man-Hunt!

Now, I’ve wondered aimlessly around the East Haven Home Depot before and I’ve only ever come home with the wrong gauge whatchamacallit and mismatched doohickeys – maybe a few nails or a paint brush. As I’ve said before, hardware is not my thing (and I promise to get my daughters little pink tool sets!!!) But now, the mission is changing – I need to wander Home Depot and come back with more than just a few nuts in my pocket. ha ha I crack myself up.

So, I’m asking for help!!! Please, friends, readers, strangers – lend me your two cents!!! How shall I plan out my Handy-Man-Hunt?

Should I have a full day planned?

Maybe a Sunday from Dunkin Donuts to Home Depot to a Sports Bar for the Game?

Maybe a full day at Home Depot?

Or just sitting outside Home Depot looking like my Jeep really really needs an oil change?

Or maybe I should swing by Jiffy Lube too…

All I know is I need to make the move and move fast – I only have a few short months to find love in Connecticut so I can go through another tragic breakup and return to Colorado with a proper broken heart. My Patch Column is going to need an epic last article and let’s face it, in the game of love, no one remembers the happy endings….

SOMEONE, PLEASE HELP!!!!

Photo Credit to Matt Branscombe at BSC Photo

Please leave a comment or shoot me and e-mail or tweet or message and let me know what you think!

xoxoxoxo

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Advice of the Solicited and Un Kind, Featured, Hope Chest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Handy Man Hunt – Phase 1

  1. Clo says:

    This is going to sound bizarre, but: the guys who can fix things will not be at Home Depot on the weekend. They will be out fishing until roughly Dec 22, give or take a week, when blackfish closes for the season. So either hop your butt over to Bass Pro Shop/ Cabella’s and look helplessly at the rod & reel section for a “present for one of your female friends who wants to get into fishing.. oh and by the way to you know how I can get my stupid sink to stop dripping all the time?” or go hang out with the circular saws on a Wednesday. Maybe you’ll find a really hot Depot employee. Plus if you get an employee you not only get a handy-man, but you get sweet employee discounts. And if it’s love he can transfer to Colorado to a different branch. And if the selection in the hardware aisle is less than desirable, you can always try a different shift! Hah! I’d be willing to bet the broke ass college boys are pulling overnight stock somewhere.

  2. Linnea says:

    Hmmmmm :o) I’m sure everyone had their ideas for you about what they think would work, and where you’ll find your guy. A handyman day does sound like it could be fun, however… and delicious… especially the Dunkin Donuts part. Also, collecting paint chips at Home Depot would be entertaining. I don’t want to tell you an annoying love story, but have I told you how I met Zac? I met him in September, 2009… just a little over half a year before I was due to transfer. It was at the end of a 10k race I had gone to alone on a rainy Sunday morning. I had my headphones in and was listening to loud rap music. I saw Zac talking to me and took my ear buds out… he told me that I had ran a great race and that he’d been trying to keep up with me, but couldn’t. He asked for my number and I wrote it out for him on the back of his finisher’s certificate. I was a sweat fest and wasn’t wearing any makeup… but he said that maybe we could go running together sometime. About a week and a half later, he texted me and we met for a run together… ever since then, we have been together! I didn’t try to fall in love with him or make anything happen… but everything was going well and he kept asking to see me… and there was and is something so special about Zac. In the months before I met him, I decided that I wanted to focus on making myself awesome. That might sound selfish… but I started doing things for myself that I had never done before… I bought my first car after being deathly afraid of driving, I’d ride my bicycle to the farmer’s market to pick up peonies. I bought a turquoise Kate Spade purse (my first expensive purse!), and I got disciplined about running because it made me feel strong and happy. I guess my only insight is that you should keep being your fearless, authentic, and awesome self. You have a strong sense of who you are and what makes you happy, so keep following these things! xoxoxoxoxoxox

  3. Rachel says:

    I guess I just don’t plan my man hunts quite this specifically. I definitely look around anytime I’m at the hardware store to see if there are any handsome men, but I only go there when I truly need to buy something. Other than that I find the handymen types at the dive bars. Do they have dive bars in CN? 🙂

  4. jan says:

    Hilarious, I am no help on the dating, I’ve been out of it too long. I can tell you my daughter works at Home Depot here and is never lacking for a date, from co-workers to customers. Few are keepers though, sadly a couple of them were married and never told her. So be careful but have fun, oh wait that isn’t really possible….Have Fun!!!

  5. T says:

    listen up, noobs:
    1. plot a circular course over your target radius. you want to maximize browsing and minimize gas expenditure. start with DD, then the auto shop*, then home depot, then a deli that is NOT subway, then a hot rod show, gun expo, or a motorcycle race. better yet a shooting range.
    * someone who goes to the autoshop first thing in the morning is a) not lazy, b) drove themselves there as soon as it opened. they are more likely to be a hobbyist or a planner. someone who shoes up at 11:55am is more likely to have gotten a ride there from their friend, because their car is actually broken, and they didn’t want to wake their friend up too early. in this same vein of thought, go for guys who are buying small maintenance parts… someone looking for a new alternator, or turtle wax, is fine. someone seeking a new alternator, a new battery, new sparkplugs, and a pack of dip is not going to be able to swing by your house and take you to dinner anytime soon.
    2. listen closely for words like “restoring” or “kit.” again, signs that the man is working on his second car, and has initiative. also listen closely for words like “roommates,” “fence for dog,” or “potato gun.” this is likely indicative of singledom.
    3. listen even more carefully for words like “wife,” “lady friend,” “honey-do list,” or “loveseat.” AVOID AVOID AVOID.
    4. admit you don’t know what you are doing, and ask for demonstrations with new power tools.
    5. pay close attention to those demos and actually take it home and use it! Linnea is right about becoming more awesome just for the sake of your own self pride.
    6. sign up for a gun safety/novice shooter class. keep an eye out for men with hunting guns as opposed to men with gangster guns. invest in your safety! and maybe a man who likes to bring home fresh game/is capable of kicking the ass of anyone who dares enter your home…
    7. ask for recommendations for a gift for your brother or uncle… a girlfriend who is into fishing is slightly less plausible… but then again sometimes shameless flirting wins points.
    8. end at the SPA, silly! you’ll be ready for some girl time!

  6. sukanya says:

    loved the suggestions by some previous commenters.. very promising must say. good luck girl…go hit the jackpot.

Comment Here!!!

