Old Year’s Resolutions

Tis the season for New Year’s Resolutions. Everyone’s already talking about them on Facebook and Twitter, but I haven’t written any yet – so I’m posting past year’s resolutions.

On January 1st, 2010 I wrote:

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will age. I will mark my 26th birthday in August. And I will mature. I will become old enough to crawl up into my attic and search for the giant badger that I am sure has taken permenant residence there. I will also invest in more expensive face cream to fight off the tinge of wrinkles and worry-lines as I continue through my MID-TWENTIES. I will also stop buying “kid” cereals like Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Honey Nut Cheerios. And I will learn how to watch horror and action movies without closing my eyes or leaving the room or having nightmares.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will be more responsible. I will not drive my car until the gas light comes on and then cry when I can’t find my wallet and I have to pay for $2.67 in gas with the change in my ash tray. I will write down appointments and remember them, rather than reschedule all of them because I double book myself all of the time. I will start balancing my checkbook by hand rather than trusting online banking with my whole heart. I will make real lists before I go to the super market.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will learn. I’ll take at least one class. I will continue my education. I will learn how to make cheesecake. I will learn how to use an electric drill and other tools besides a hammer and a screwdriver. I will learn how to style my hair. I will learn and practice yoga. I will learn how to change a flourescent light bulb. I will learn about life, love and politics. I will learn about the world surrounding my existence.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will embrace happiness. I will laugh until my stomach hurts. I will seek friendship. I will take more pictures. I will dance without shame, drink as responsibly as needed and eat without hating myself for every calorie.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will discover. I will discover my favorite New Haven coffee shop. I will discover new ways and paths to get there. I will discover new friends and lovers and I will discover new sides to myself.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will lose. I will lose another 10 pounds or more and I will lose my keys. I will lose at least one earring and I will feel like I’ve lost my mind. I will lose arguments. I will lose at board games. I will lose my way and I will find a new way back.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will see. I will see beautiful sunsets and rises. I will see the seasons as they change. I will see with my heart. I will see from a new perspective. I will see the humanity in others. I will see the suffering and sorrow where before I averted my eyes. I will see if I can keep that promise.

I promise you, 2010 that this year I will live. I will live with passion. I will live through pain and heart break. I will live with dissapointment. I will live despite all odds. I will do more than merely survive or exist. I will live actively. I will live with hope and strength. I will live in the moment and I won’t count down the days until my life really starts anymore.

I promise you, 2010 that this year will not end as it is starting. I have 365 days to change my life, I will not stay stagnant, nor shall I come full circle. I will pursue greatness. I will find my way. And I promise that everything will be different next year, well except for those things that always stay the same.

I actually made pretty good on those resolutions in 2010 (with the exception of the horror movies and academic pursuits and cheesecake/power drill thing).

When 2011 rolled around, I wasn’t quite as ambitious – I simply resolved to drink more water and take vitamins every day. Those were actually some great resolutions for me – more water and vitamins made me feel great!

Now, 2012 is on its way – and I have some epic changes coming up in my life. Resolutions this year are going to need to be something special. I haven’t written them yet – but I’m working on them……and my Christmas cards….sorry I haven’t sent those out yet….

New Year? Time for a New Look?

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Featured, Hope Chest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Old Year’s Resolutions

  1. Jessica says:

    I never got my Christmas cards out this year either lol. Great past resolutions. I stopped making them these past few years, but your post kind of inspired me. Perhaps I will give it one more try…:)

  2. jerly says:

    Resolutions do help us be clear what we want,have a goal…They should stay there at the back of our minds, every day of the year. I tend to forget my resolutions. I might write em this time to remember them

  3. nice. my favorite: ‘I promise you, 2010 that this year I will live. I will live with passion. I will live through pain and heart break. I will live with dissapointment. I will live despite all odds. I will do more than merely survive or exist. I will live actively. I will live with hope and strength. I will live in the moment and I won’t count down the days until my life really starts anymore.’

    love the blue hair, too! you are adorable!!!

  4. Patti Fritchie says:

    Here’s to your new adventures in 2012… You’re going to do well no matter where you land or what you decide to do with the rest of your days. Go for it with the zesto that you have in every adventure. Just keep blogging about it please.

    Hugs,
    Patti

  5. sukanya says:

    “I will lose my way and I will find a new way back.”
    you summed up the very essence of life with this simple yet profound line.

    Glad you fulfilled most. Happy 2012…wishing you a rocking new year.

  6. Savy says:

    I have 365 days to change my life…. I like it… everyday is a new day! Happy 2012 and have a blast!

  7. Awesome, totally love it… so glad I found your blog! I may stalk you now. In a good non-creepy way…

    I did not do resolutions last year, which was hugely out of character as I am list-obsessed. Now reading yours I have decided my lists suck and yours are better. Certainly funner*. (*not a word, I get it, and yes I make crap up).

    Happy happy 2012!!!!

  8. jan says:

    Sounds like your doing fine, I gave up on lists years ago but I love yours, “I will lose my way and I will find a new way back.” Those words say it all, just as Sukanya said. Happy New year to you, wishing you the best.

  9. Pingback: No Year’s Resolution - notme2night.com

Comment Here!!!

