First Friday Moment

A Friday ritual. A single photo – no words – capturing a moment from the week. A simple, special, extraordinary moment. A moment I want to pause, savor and remember.

“This Moment” is a ritual found on Life inspired by the Wee Man adopted from SouleMama which was introduced to me by Sarah-Jane of AlmostThere. If you find yourself touched by a moment and would to participate, post your picture on a Friday and leave your link in the comments section.

OK this is my first “This Moment” and I’m already breaking the rules – it’s going to be so difficult for me to just let me pictures speak! I’ll always want to explain them away with my insufficient words! I promise to try harder next time, it’s just brevity isn’t really my thing….and neither is photography…

Anyway, my first moment is for darling Maisy – I found her at an adoption fair 13 years ago. When I went home for Christmas this year, I  had to make the difficult decision to put Maisy down. She was riddled with cancer; she was slowly starving to death. As much as it pained my family to lose our beloved companion, it was the right thing to do for her. I snapped this photo the night before we took her to the vet. I was sitting on the sofa, quietly petting her ears. I was thinking about the choice I had made, feeling the heavy weight of it on my heart. It wasn’t until I looked at the picture later that I saw the real understanding in my little dog’s eyes – she knew my heart was heavy – and that’s what I captured, her looking at me, trying to share the burden.

Breaking the rules again – I have one more moment – a webcam snapshot of me writing This Moment.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Friday Moments, Hope Chest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First Friday Moment

  1. This was so deeply moving, Erin…RIP Maisy!

  2. Savy says:

    Aww a special and sad moment… Bless her

  3. jan says:

    Oh so special moment, it deserved the write up. We all break the rules on occasion. Such a sweet baby girl she was. I am sorry for your pain in the loss. The second photo is great as well, love the look on your face, it speaks volumes. ❤

  4. sulekha says:

    Moving moment…left me with a heartache

  5. Oh, Erin! ~ You got me all teared up! Deeply moving — Thank you for sharing yourself this way! Blessings, LoveXOXOX

  6. I am really sorry for your loss…God bless you.

  7. Such a very special memory and poignant moment . . . Sometimes, it’s okay to break the rules – this is one of those times, dear.
    Blessings!

  8. Janaki Nagaraj says:

    Nice and memorable.

  9. Bongo says:

    awwwww this is so sad and beautiful at the same time…what a tribute to Maisy..Thank you for sharing this…..As always…XOXOXOOXOXOXOXO

  10. Sili says:

    So sad. And so beautiful. I lost my Sheba in ’08 to cancer as well and you did the right thing. I wish I’d done it earlier, to be honest. I love this picture. Thank you for sharing it.

  11. It is so difficult to make this choice when you are faced with it. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    http://allergiesandceliac.blogspot.com/2011/12/this-moment_30.html#more

  12. David Smith says:

    So sorry for your loss, she was a beautiful girl 😦 I understand too well the pain of losing a beloved friend as my blog was started after the passing of Erin. Hopefully in time your sorrow will lessen and your heart will began to heal. Blessings!!!

    http://erinsdomain.blogspot.com/2011/12/this-moment-near-my-heart.html

  13. John Coolvart says:

    Very touching. RIP.

  14. melissa says:

    Your blog is so fashionable. I have missed out on a lot of your posts though. Anyways, it’s a good start with your first Friday moment.

    Dogs are the most sincere creatures I’ve seen. You’ve captured that in your image.

  15. T says:

    so sorry to hear about Maisy. poor girl.

Comment Here!!!

