Advice to Rush Limbaugh

I have ironic timing.

I write this article establishing myself as an Ortho Tri-Cyclen popping single woman in the same week that Rush Limbaugh has to go and call Sandra Fluke a slut.

Oh hell.

I usually stay away from politics. I don’t think Conservatives are “bad people” and I don’t think Liberals are “fools.”  I don’t think Moderates are always that moderate and I don’t think Independents are as independently thinking as they want to be. Essentially, I know I’ll never fully agree with anyone, so I don’t stand up and preach or jump to take sides. I hate labels.

Obviously, this incident has been all over the news. I’ve read opinion pieces, transcripts, and listened to what President Obama had to say about it. I don’t think there is much for me to add to the thousands of opinions floating around the web right now. It’s a shame, this is a topic about which I’d have quite a few words, given a good debate.

Unfortunately, Mr. Limbaugh lost all credibility in possibly having a counter-point when he committed gross Argumentum ad Hominem (yeah, had to dig deep into my old high school text books for that fallacy!) Poor form, old chap. Sounds like he needs a hand…maybe I can offer some advice?

Dear Mr. Limbaugh,

Take a note: Rather than drawing all sorts of negative attention to yourself, why not draw attention to the issues you care about? Isn’t that your job?

You’ve  discredited your nationally syndicated show by attacking the virtue of a respectful and eloquent woman. You are now being classified as a full on misogynist – one who’s opinion is quickly becoming less important.

Mr. Limbaugh, how would you like to be told that your stand on abortion isn’t valid because you have a penis? How strong would you consider a rival’s argument if they based their rebuttal to your pro-life stance on your personal lack of biological children? How would you feel if you were dismissed as just a man who couldn’t possibly understand the complexities and moralities of childbirth?

You are supposed to be a professional and a spokesperson for a political culture – shame on you for putting yourself in a position where you’ve been so effortlessly (and rightly) demonized and your conservative stance has been so quickly disregarded. As a representative, sir, you failed.

Mr. Limbaugh, why instead did you not address sources of affordable birth control, such as the $9 Ortho-Cyclen and Ortho-Tri-Cyclen at Wal-Mart, or the affordable options at Planned Parenthood or free birth control for people on Medicaid? $9 a month is cheaper than a 36 pack of Ultra Thin Lubricated Tojan condoms and you get to have unlimited sex on the pill. It’s more bang for your buck. Haha – see, I can make cheap sex jokes too.

Mr. Limbaugh, why did you not simply address how separation of church and state is a 2-way-street? Contrary to their public counterparts, private institutions run by churches are subject to the moral codes of the religious institutions that pay for them. The Catholic Church has a clear stance against the use of contraceptives.  While the separation of church and state prevents the church from actively denying contraceptives to American citizens, the church should not be forced to pay for these contraceptives.

Mr. Limbaugh, you went belly-up on this argument. You didn’t even put up a good fight. There was no stimulating volley of points and counter-points – just your vastly inappropriate name-calling session and grossly ill-informed claims followed by an emotional outcry from the world!

I’m not saying you would have won the debate, but you could have given the other side a run for their money. Ms. Fluke fluently presented a serious issue to a room of professionals and you made crude jokes. She showed class and poise in a well-versed proposition and you came off looking like a pig.

Be careful, Mr. Limbaugh – pigs don’t change people’s hearts or their votes.

PS – Mr. Limbaugh, may I suggest you check out The American Catholic? Where you failed, she actually presented a real argument.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Advice of the Solicited and Un Kind, Featured and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice to Rush Limbaugh

  1. While what I think he said was not proper, I think people are going a bit to crazy over it. He loves attention much like all the celebs in the world. When they want attention they do something really off color and I think people are giving him to much time on this. He is easily ignorable. Just my thoughts.

  2. jan says:

    I have not listened to Mr. Limbaugh in years and years. I have my own opinions of the man that I need not express here. Suffice it to say I am not at all surprised by his behavior. This is a wonderful piece on this matter, even if I don’t have clue what is going on with him today.

  3. T says:

    Great points, Ermodi! Limbaugh appealed to the lowest common denominators in America this time, and it was uncalled for. How much does he get paid? You did his job much better than he this week.

  4. sukanya says:

    Agree with The Social Frog-he is a moron who will continue looking for cheap publicity. People like him have no moral compass and are dangerously incorrigible. What is scarier is that he will continue to have such previledges!

Comment Here!!!

