Reaching For It…

Last night, I attended the lovely wedding of my friend and classmate Kirsten. The two of us accounted for half of the cadets from Colorado who attended the Coast Guard Academy between the years of 2003-2007. We share a special bond. We are patient, we are kind, we are laid back, and we know the secret to a great party is great food and a heavy-handed bar tender. Kirsten’s wedding was no exception.

The ceremony was at Red Rocks and the reception was at The Fort, a restaurant that boasts selling “more buffalo steaks than any other independently owned restaurant in the country.”

Chapel at Red Rocks

Chapel at Red Rocks

Kirsten’s reception included hours of delicious food, laughter and a generous open bar that served mojitos in mason jars. Fantastic!

Sometime after cake and before the newlyweds departed to be newly wed, the single girls at the wedding were gathered on the patio for the bouquet toss. All four lined up, each one looking less enthused about her current romantic prospects than the one before. One of us had been single only a few days, the others a few months, and yours truly, a few years. Yay, bouquet toss.

I didn’t bother putting my glass of wine down before joining the other girls in line. I’m not interested in being the next one to marry. I’m not even interested in talking to guys right now, unless they are calling me about my financial aid package or describing their dog’s vomit to me or offering to rub my feet while I try to figure out how to get my student visa.

Still, I am a good sport. I stand beside my single lady friends during the good, the bad and the bouquet toss.

The bride turned around and closed her eyes and launched her beautiful white rose and blue wildflower bundle of love right at me. It landed on my shoulder and balanced there for a moment until I sighed, grabbed it and held it up triumphantly – with the grace of  the Statue of Liberty.

Watch out, Edinburgh – I’ll be there at the end of July and carrying the curse of the bridal bouquet, the designation of the next singletonista to walk down the aisle, with me.

Cheers!

A blessing or a curse?

A blessing or a curse?

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Dating or Something Like it, Edinburgh, Good Places to Meet Guys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reaching For It…

  1. Pingback: Taking Inventory | Singletonista

Comment Here!!!

