Whelmed…In the completely “over” sense of the word

Whew….

So good news: Huck doesn’t have cancer. His biopsy came back clean, with only signs of an ingrown hair. So that is fantastic. He was thrilled when I told him the good news:

971298_550429643036_117987022_nGuess he isn’t too happy that I had an ingrown hair surgically removed and sent in for biopsy…

Oh well. Onto other stresses and joys…

I’m officially at the 2 week mark before flying to Scotland. I’m so excited, I feel like I might burst out of my own skin and I also kinda want to throw up. I think that’s because if there is a way to mess something up royally, I’m most likely the girl who will do it. I generally chalk it up to crap Irish luck, but it’s probably all directly related to my lack of attention to detail.

Just ride the roller-coaster with me for a quick sec:

I’m accepted into veterinary school and all my childhood dreams are coming true and I’m moving to Scotland….Weeeeeeeee!

Tickets are $1,400 one way out of Denver because I’m buying them last minute…Ohhhhhhhhhh

I found a cheap ticket using my acquired travel agent skills and some air miles….Weeeeeeeeeee!

My ticket is going through Dublin, Ireland. I discover that this is a problem. Ohhhh

Students are not supposed to fly through Ireland because they don’t get the correct stamp in their visa due to a common travel agreement between the Republic of Ireland and the UK.

Ohhhh

I’m going to throw up.

I contact UK immigrations and ask if there is any way I can get the special stamp….maybe just walk to the other part of the airport where people coming from other countries like China and Russia and Norway are going through immigration and get the stamp on my visa….

Waiting game. Still wanna puke.

I get an e-mail back telling me to not be naughty like that next time and properly go through immigrations when I go home for holiday. Weeeeeeeeee!

I print the email. Paper-freaking-trail, baby. Because it has the immigration officer’s contact information on it and I’m terrified I might need her telephone number….

I get my CAS number from the school! Weeeeeeeee everything is so official right now!

I apply for my visa! Weeeeee!

I get an e-mail telling me I should be applying for my visa.

Weeeeeee!

I’m one step ahead of the game, for once!

The email also reminds me not to apply for my visa until I’ve gotten my official note from FAFSA because if I apply for a visa without having the funds to pay for school, that is fraud. Fraud is “frowned upon” and will result in my visa getting denied.

I want my freaking non-refundable 1,500 British Pound Sterling deposit back. I want to throw up. I’m crying. I don’t want to play anymore.

This is the point in the roller coaster where you’re in the dark tunnel and you can’t really breathe in because everything is fast and dark and screaming. So much screaming.

I add up my savings account, retirement fund and toss my GI Bill certificate of eligibility in for good measure. I’m covered. I have enough for this year’s tuition and living expenses. I don’t need my FAFSA. I’m sure as heck taking out loans though. I don’t want to crack into my meager IRA right now and I’d hate for my savings account to equal $0.  Still, I haven’t committed fraud. I should still be able to get that visa which won’t be properly stamped until I go home on Holiday. Wee…exhausted yet? I am.

But I’m up again. I’m out of the tunnel and I can see the rest of the roller-coaster before me. Here’s the next 15 days:

Tomorrow: last day of work

Thursday – Saturday: Go to LA with the baby brother to check out his future institution of higher learning

Saturday – Monday: Go to the mountains for an impromptu family reunion. Keeping my fingers crossed that someone in the family hands me a big fat check and tells me I’m doing the family proud and to have fun in animal medical school. I doubt this will happen. I intend to drink copious amounts of tequila and watch my grandparent’s HBO.

Tuesday: Biometric appointment for my visa. Overnight completed visa application to NYC.

Wednesday – Friday: breathe. That’s all I’m going to schedule for those days. Breathe and pump blood through my body. Pretty much leaving all the responsibility up to my brain stem and giving the neocortex a break. This would, however, be an excellent time for me to get my TB test redone if my last one from 1997 isn’t any good anymore and get my teeth cleaned.

Saturday: Epic going away party.

Sunday: Start moving the stuff that I don’t want to get rid of to Mom’s house.

Monday-Tuesday: If I haven’t gotten my visa back, I’m probably going to be panicking pretty hard. I’ll also be packing pretty hard since I’ll have to fit in all of my clothes, my treasured books, my school books, a few mementos, and the boots I purchased for school. Come to think of it, I should probably make a list of things I’m bringing with me….

Wednesday: Fly to New York City

Thursday: Fly to Edinburgh. Via Dublin. Whew.

This isn’t easy. Still, the difficulties and stress do not make this endeavor any less worthwhile. And who knows? That next lotto ticket I pick up might be the one…

And they all lived happily ever after….

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Edinburgh, My Dog Loves Me, Vet School and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whelmed…In the completely “over” sense of the word

  1. Yay for exciting adventures!

  2. Karin says:

    If I win Powerball, I will cover all of your expenses. You now have it in writing. 🙂

Comment Here!!!

