I’m Legal!!!!

My blessed visa came in the mail today!

It’s beautiful!

Really, truly beautiful! They shrunk the passport photo I submitted, so I think my face looks a little more delicate in the visa picture. The only complaint I’d have about it is the raised stamp making me look like I somehow damaged the bone structure in my right cheek. No matter – it was one document I received with open, open arms! AND, the BEST news is, it’s good til 2017! I’m pretty sure that means I won’t be going through this next year *knocks tentatively on wood*

I’m breathing easier. I’m looking at places to rent ahem, let. I have my bags packed (almost) and a new set of plane tickets in hand. Sure, they cost me $2,000, but I have every intention of reclining my seat back as far as it goes, noshing on a few extra bags of peanuts, requesting two blankets and a pillow from the flight crew, and going to Europe feeling like a champion. Plus, my new tickets won’t go through Ireland so my visa will be properly stamped and I won’t have to jump through any hoops registering for classes. I’m calling it a win.

I’m flying out Saturday and will be spending the next few days tying up loose ends:

1. Possibly sell my car. I had a dealer offer me $100 for her today. It was rather insulting.

2. Write scathing Yelp review for dealership from point 1.

3. Call the VA (again) just to double/triple check that my GI Bill is set and ready to go. I will not be waking up at 2 in the morning to call them from Edinburgh, and if I ever have to….dun dun dunnnnn (pffft, who am I kidding, I’ll probably be sweet as pie on the phone and then cry for 9 hours after).

4. Finish storing all my earthly possessions in my mother’s house. I downsized an enormous amount. I’ll have 3 18-gallon Rubbermaid tubs and one small CGA trunk tucked away in the crawl space, a few books on the bookshelf, a handful of clothes in the closet, my bed in the guest room (dear future guests, the bed has a feather bed mattress topper, you’re welcome), my coffee table in the basement and my bike hanging in the garage. I tried to sell my bike today but couldn’t do it. She’ll wait for me.

5. Finish packing my bags. I’ll be traveling with one large suitcase, my sea bag (a classic), my backpack and either a small duffel full of jewelry and pictures or my guitar. Since I still don’t know how to play guitar, I might leave it at home, especially  if it looks like I’m going to have flatmates. If some of my studio apartment enquiries (spelled with an intentional “e”) look promising, however, I’m bringing out the guitar and learning something more complicated than Norwegian Wood.

6. Get Huckleberry a new name tag with my mom’s address/phone number on it. Stock up on dog food and cat litter at the store so mom doesn’t have to worry about it. Show mom how to express his anal glands even though I know she never will.

7. Submit my change of address with the post office and cancel my cell phone.

8. Cash my U.S. Saving’s Bonds from 1984.

9. Print out everything about my new life, including travel itineraries, immigration information, bus routes, and the school’s address. Highlight. Organize in binder with tabs.

10. Start studying. The school published a cell biology module we’re supposed to look over. It appears to be a semester’s worth of information. Yay.

I guess the few extra days are more beneficial than I gave them credit for when I was in the middle of my sob fest a few days ago. International moves are (apparently) kinda a big deal.

But, I’m finally feeling like I got this 🙂

Peace

Glad to see they've made themselves right at home....

Glad to see they’ve made themselves right at home….

 

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Edinburgh, Vet School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Here!!!

