Playing Around Arthur’s Seat

I woke up this morning knowing I had the whole day to relax and study.

Since I was motivated, but in no rush, I made myself breakfast in bed. I drank my coffee black and made a mental note to pick up more milk at the store. What is it about living alone and never having fresh dairy handy?

On my way to the store, took a little diversion to the post office where I mailed off my first round of airmail letters home. I’m pretty sure the postman thinks I’m a little slow on the uptake, or from a place where there is no postal service. I asked a few too many questions to make sure my letters would be sent to the US. In the end, I left, sure Royal Mail will come through. Sorry Mom, your birthday card is going to be a wee bit late.

Next, I meandered down to Sainbury’s popping into the various thrift shops on the way to get out of the on-again-off-again rain. The sky was overcast and the whole world felt damp. It was a great day to curl up with a cup of tea and my anatomy notes.

I got back from the grocery store, made my tea and sat down with my notes. Ugh. My flat was a disaster. It would be impossible for me to concentrate until I made my bed, washed my dishes, and threw in a load of laundry.

Just then, I received an invitation to climb Arthur’s Seat with one of my classmates. I looked out the window. The sun was shining and I hated to waste a clear afternoon as I hear they are numbered. The weather had changed so completely, I felt like the universe was telling me to go outside and play. I threw a bottle of water in my purse and set off to the hill.

When we initially arrived, the only trail going up seemed…difficult.

trail

So, we kept walking until we found a more official and obviously “easier” trail:

trail2

The climb up was steeper than I’d anticipated. In breathless honesty, I *may* have compared climbing Arthur’s Seat to climbing Mount Fuji last summer….

But, we finally got high enough to start our ascent to the top.

totheseat

I paused a few times on the trail to catch my breath…er…admire the scenery….

flowers

After some blood, sweat and perhaps a few tears, we reached the summit:

view

The wind was blowing so hard, we felt as if we could be lifted off the hilltop any second. Admiring the 360 degree view, South, West, North and then East, we saw one more challenge to conquer:

last up

The trail stopped at a rock face, which I scrambled up with the grace and surefootedness of a Billy Goat. Of course.From the top, the view was even more delicious.

tip top view

And, just to keep our egos in check, this arthritic old man also made the trip to the top, possibly faster than we did:

dog

Still, we were proud of ourselves for coming such a long way:

height

us

But, the sky was threatening rain again, so we made out way down and bid Arthur’s seat adieu.

bye

I walked home (just over 2 miles), even though taking a bus was tempting. It was so peaceful and such good time to reflect on where I am and what I’m doing. Some days, I still pinch myself to make sure this isn’t all a fantastic dream. I’m living in Scotland and pursuing my dream of becoming a veterinarian. In the depths of my soul, 5-year-old Erin is so very happy for FINALLY getting her way.

When I got home, I made some veggie curry, poured a glass of wine, applied an antioxidant mask and started studying…er…blogging.

me

Cheers.

It’s seriously time for me to hit the books. Seriously.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Academia, Adventure, Edinburgh, Vet School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing Around Arthur’s Seat

  1. Pamela says:

    Love it! Glad you are having such an amazing time. Wow–what a view!!! Can’t wait to hear about the guys over there 😉 Do tell when excitement happens!

  2. Anonymous says:

    So glad you are loving Edinburgh.

  3. T says:

    i am so glad you are making friends, chasing adventure, and still finding time to mask! you are a shining example of excellence. xxo!

Comment Here!!!

