Breaking Radio Silence

Do you ever listen to your iPod and imagine all the artists are inside of it, just hanging out? When I imagine walking through my iPod, Cher and Pink are taking tequila shots together, totally ignoring Joan Jett who is watching them from across the bar. The Smashing Pumpkins are playing poker with Pearl Jam, and ABBA is just kinda standing around, smiling. I borrow anti-wrinkle cream from Blondie and the Spice Girls and ask them when we got to be so old. Janice Joplin and Bob Dylan are planning the next cultural revolution in the corner and Johnny Cash is smoking. I pinch The Boss on the bum as I walk past, and wink at Billy Joel.

Now you know where my brain is…let me tell you why:

It’s revision week….or “Fresher’s Week” for the spirited young bucks in the class who are out in their fancy dress (local lingo for “costumes”) playing beer pong and being officially welcomed into the fold of college.

Ay, to be young again. I remember my own “fresher’s week,” many moons ago. Except, the Coast Guard had a different name for it, if I remember right, we called it something silly, like, “indoc week.” And we were welcomed into the fold in a very different way, kinda like a toga party, but with a lot more pushups and yelling. Haha. What fun.

Eh, this isn’t my first rodeo.

I’ve been shying away from the parties and catching up on both academic and real life tasks. I successfully registered for a doctor, mailed in my council tax student exemption forms, caught up on the past season of Downton Abbey, and joined a gym. I also took advantage of being home to catch up on my online shopping, so much so, in fact, that the bank locked my card and called me to make sure I could authorize all the charges….yes…I did buy all those things. I understand it looks like someone stole my credit card, someone with impeccable taste in designer satchels, but that someone really, truly is me…

I’d have to say, the Pièce de résistance of my splurge is my new red Zatchel. I’ll be carrying my schoolbooks in style in this hand-stitched leather beauty, and with how much she cost, so will my children’s children’s children.

2013-09-11 16.09.25

Of course, after ordering my Zatchel, I immediately wanted a pair of glossy red Hunter Wellies to match. Fortunately, reason beat out designer allure and I realized I just couldn’t spend 89 quid (roughly $130) on red rubber rain boots. Designer.Rubber.Boots. Let’s just take a second and let that one sink in…

Curse my grand taste and tiny budget!

I’ve been studying a bit too. Not frantically or for 10 hours a day, it’s not crunch time…yet….but I’ve been systematically working my way through anatomy and finding ways to apply it to real life. Just today, I was walking back home, carrying a bag of popcorn and lilies thinking, “Ouch, these shoes hurt. If the heel was just a little shorter, there probably wouldn’t be so much pressure on my first metatarsal. Hmmm, is that my metatarsal that hurts or my first phalanx? Crap, anatomy is hard.”

That’s the thing. Anatomy is hard. It makes me wish I was the love child of a Greek God and Roman Empress, fluent in both Greek and Latin. Calvarium? Phrenicoabdominalwhaaaat? Seriously?

Unfortunately, I’m not genetically pre-disposed to Latin and Greek root words, so I guess I should get back to studying.

2013-09-09 23.49.55

Why studying in bed is never, ever a good idea….

 

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Academia, Edinburgh, Vet School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Here!!!

