Let the Games Begin!

Revision week now draws to a close. My studies are more focused and my outfits more disheveled. At the start of the week, I took time to plan complimentary colors, textures and accessories. Mid week, I quit planning and started wearing the same outfits over again until they got smelly. Eventually, I just wore sweats and pigtails….and I wore them in public…to the library….possibly without a bra. Desperate times….desperate measures.

Tomorrow, we have our oral exams. 12 minutes in the dissection room, with almost everything about dog, cat, horse, cow, bird, bunny, and reptile anatomy could literally be laid out on the table. While part of me is thinking an accelerated anatomy course to start off vet school may have been a fatal error, the rest of me is excited about it. I envision Who Wants to Be A Millionaire…except without the sound effects and, unfortunately, I most likely won’t be celebrating at Tiffany’s afterwards…

This week has given me time to sleep, study, work out, clean, run errands, write letters, and watch every single cheesy horse show on British Netflix. Seriously, I’m on season 2 of Heartland – a super cheesy Canadian TV show based on a series of novels for young adults.

The one thing I have made a point to not do is panic. I’m really adapting well to this “Keep Calm and…” culture and have decided that panic is the worst thing anyone in the veterinary profession can do. I am trying to master calmness. Wooooooo-saaaaahhhh.

The way I see it, keeping cool under stress is a directly transferable clinical skill. I mean, if my OBGYN started freaking out when I was in the stirrups, I’d probably lash out and bite him, so why would I expect any different from an animal? While I can say with about 97% confidence that none of the formaldehyde-soaked specimens are going to leap off the table and bite me tomorrow if I lose my cool, why even take that chance?

At this point, the only thing left to do is get a good night’s sleep, take a hot shower, put on my big girl panties and my lab coat, sufficiently caffeinate, and think like a champion.

Dun dun dun

My classmate Julie cheerfully dubbed Tuesday, “Judgment Day.” She also made a joke about bopping around shark infested waters wearing floaties and water-wings….haha oh so eerily accurate.

Everyone in the class seems to have different feelings and views about this first round of exams.  Still, we’re all pretty much in the same rapidly flooding boat. Some seem to have slightly better life preserves and others are bailing out with a little more motivation to keep our small craft afloat. I’ve also seen a few Facebook posts tonight sending out S.O.S. signals to the divine of any (and every) religion.

In the end, I’m sure the USS GEP Dick Vet will endure. Another day, another game of Battleship.

At the end of the day, it is a game. You know the question or you don’t, you pass Go and collect $200 or spend some time in jail watching other people take a lap around. It’s all a game. It just depends on what type of game you’re playing.

Some treat life like the Olympic games – we’re all prepped, primed and ready to go for the gold.

Some treat life like a game show – consolation prizes for everyone!

And other people treat life like the Hunger GamesMay the odds be EVER in your favour…

Whatever game we’re in store for tomorrow, I’d like to wish my classmates the best of luck and preemptively give them the proverbial pat on the ass.

Good game, everyone.

 

 

 

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Academia, Edinburgh, Vet School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let the Games Begin!

  1. Pamela says:

    Yes! Good luck!

  2. Susan Rice says:

    Hey I don’t care what anyone says..I used to LOVE those Heartland books (read every one) and flipped my shit when I discovered there was an entireTV show on Netflix. I still haven’t gotten through all the seasons though. Maybe that’s what I’ll do this weekend when these exams are over!

Comment Here!!!

