Hungry Like The….Mouse?

I finally caved and bought Virgin Broadband internet.

It wasn’t for quicker access to study materials and downloads….A benefactor recently brought me into their dishanywhere.com fold and I don’t want any delay to enjoying my new found access to True Blood and Game of Thrones. Oh, wonderful guilty pleasures.

Initially, I fought getting broadband. With a 50 Quid activation fee and a 2 week waiting list for installation, it was anything other than convenient. Still, on a whim, I stopped by the store on Princes Street today and found out that I could do activation myself (for free), take home a quick start up and only be on a 9 month contract. I happily signed up.

Of course, nothing is ever quite easy and I was soon making my second call to tech support to activate my wireless router. While Mr. Tech Support and I were waiting for the ON/OFF switch to work it’s magic, I let out a startled, “Whoaaa!” I think I scared the heck out of Tech Support because it really was quite the sudden outburst when he was expecting me to say something more like, “Ok all three lights are now on.”

I explained that I had just seen a mouse run out from under my refrigerator. Mr. Tech Support didn’t say anything, I didn’t want him searching the database for what to do if a customer calls with a mouse complaint, so I added, “It’s ok, I don’t expect you to solve my mouse problem, just my internet problem. And all three lights are now on.” He laughed, but seemed relieved.

After we hung up, I kept my eye on the fridge waiting to see the little mouse again. He’s a brown, cheeky fellow who seemed confident walking halfway across my kitchen in broad daylight until I told him to “Whoaaaa!” Unfortunately, since I was talking on the phone, I couldn’t snap a picture of the little dude, so I’ve had to create the below reenactment:

mouse1At some point in my life, seeing a mouse may have left me feeling slightly unsettled. But, not any more! I am ERIN DIXON, FUTURE VETERINARIAN, FUTURE HEALER OF SICK ANIMALS AND LOVER OF ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL…except most reptiles and a few amphibians and pigs and arachnids…ok…LOVER OF MOST CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL.

Truthfully, I was so excited to have a cute roommate, I decided the mouse and I should be friends. I could hear scurrying behind the fridge, so I assumed he was listening. I told him I would call him Harvey and I would expect him to answer to his name, mind his manners and only poop within the walls. I figured we could talk about splitting rent later. I always like to set the ground rules, kinda like Sheldon’s Roommate Agreement, but obviously not so neurotic.

Harvey seemed a skeptical of our arrangement. He wouldn’t even come back out to shake hands with me, so I decided to sweeten the deal:

2013-09-17 15.57.38

I’ll let you know if it works.

Maybe I’ll add a little disclaimer to the note, just to tell him to go easy on the bran cereal…Those grains have a pretty substantial  fiber content and if Harvey over-indulges, he’ll regret it….believe me.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Academia, Animals, Apartment Living, Edinburgh and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hungry Like The….Mouse?

  1. Nicole says:

    I thought Harvey was a rabbit. If you leave him/her for very long you’ll have several generations of fuzzy, cute roommates. Lol. You’ll have to get collars for them to tell who’s who.

    Tip: Don’t eat mouse poop.

  2. T says:

    next you’ll need a pet owl.

  3. julie.eman says:

    I love the response from the tech guy! kinda scared relief… I hope you and Harvey can come up with a somewhat-non-neurotic version of Sheldon’s roommate agreement 🙂

  4. Janina says:

    Mice are cute and fuzzy and carry meningitis and bubonic plague among other deadly diseases and they have a gestation period of 19-21 days and litters of 9-12. so within a few months you could be breeding some pretty nasty stuff in your flat … just saying. maybe you should go back to having the tarantula pet … seems a bit safer 😛

  5. Pingback: Roommate Divorce! | Singletonista

  6. Pingback: It’s Called A WHAT?! | Singletonista

  7. Pingback: My Mom Told Me To Write This Post | Singletonista

Comment Here!!!

