Ultra Sound? More Like Ultra Fun!

I received a crash course in ultrasonography today.

It pretty much went like this:

“Here, take the probe. See that nobby-bit? Well, that aligns with the ‘M’ marker on the screen. So, you just move towards or away from the nobby-bit to move closer or further from the M mark. Give it a go. And try to find the bladder.”

I eventually found the dog’s bladder and centered on the questionable mass inside of it. Of course, to me, the whole picture just looked like the sonographs dominating my Facebook Newsfeed: shades of grey, black and white with a grainy amorphous blob in the middle. To my untrained eye, ultrasounds announcing the upcoming birth of a baby look almost identical to the inside of a dog’s bladder, especially if that bladder contains something like a polyp.

Just kidding, friends. Babies are way cuter than polyps.

I’m coming to the end of my second week of clinical EMS. I’ve really enjoyed being back in a clinic and Huckleberry has really enjoyed how interesting I smell when I get home. The days are long though, and I’m falling behind on life in general, so it will be nice to have a week off before school starts later this month. I have dishes to scrub, a growing pile of laundry to wash, and I desperately need to go grocery shopping. I had to get takeout tonight because I ate the entire contents of my refrigerator last night:

A plate of raw cabbage, hummus, olives, an avocado and two slices of cheddar cheese.

I have a mango, museli and some whisky left, but I’m saving those for an emergency. Or, perhaps, breakfast tomorrow.

Seriously. How did I ever work full time and take care of myself? I’m starting to feel like I need a mom to feed me and clean up after me and pack my lunch in the morning. It’s like I’ve completely forgotten how to be a grownup.

Still, it’s been a great experience seeing practice at the clinic. Aside from playing around with the ultrasound equipment, I’ve sat in on quite a few spays, neuters, a biopsy and a foreign body removal surgery. I’ve listened to mummers, arrhythmias and the bowels of rabbits.  I’ve learned how to provide nebulized antibiotics to a parakeet, give a chameleon an injection of vitamin B12, examine a snake, and euthanize a hamster.

But, so far, there is one patient who stands out as the highlight of my experience working in this clinic:

A little brown and white Guinea Pig. He was brought into the clinic with his brother Guinea Pig after they had gotten into a fight. The brown and white pig had a nasty bite wound on his stomach and his brother had a torn ear. While the torn ear wasn’t serious, the pig with the abdominal wound needed stitches.

Watching the vet suture this little Guinea Pig, I was so touched that the owners were taking such good care of him. It was nice to see this little guy hold so much intrinsic value, especially considering you can usually buy two Guinea Pigs for about 15 quid.

Handing him back after he’d recovered from the anesthesia, I looked at them cradling their little Guinea Pig and knew I was a witness to love. True love.

Thank you, Scotland. You beautiful country of pet lovers. Thank you for that.

suture

 

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Animals, Vet School and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Here!!!

