Whoa There, Cupid!

Sorry I haven’t been keeping up with the blog! Promise to try harder!

Currently, I’m in a state of slight crisis (is this surprising to anyone?). Basically, here’s the storm of struggles in my life:

1. Spelling.
I am trying to switch over to British spelling instead of American spelling (when in Rome, you know). Sorry readers, you’re going to be getting the worst of both worlds as I transition.

2. Academic pursuits above and beyond spelling.
School is fantastic and interesting and has me projecting hypochondria on my own animals. The other week, I rushed Huck to the vet because he was vomiting and running around the flat licking the baseboards. Obviously, I assumed he’d ingested some toxin that crossed the Blood Brain Barrier and affected his Central Nervous System. The next day, Huck came home having made a full recovery from his very expensive “tummy ache.”

3. I’m a Workin’ Girl!
Luckily, I was able to pay the vet bills without breaking too much of a sweat because I now have a delightful after school job!  It entails smiling and talking to people for hours on end about non-vet school related things. It’s exhausting and exhilarating and surprisingly refreshing to engage in casual discussions that don’t revolve around diarrhoea, vomit or cancer.

4. Identity Issues.
I’ve been toying with veganism. Don’t talk to me about protein. Nothing crazy has happened yet.

5. My Love Life.
Obviously, since I’m so busy with school, work, learning to spell, not killing my animals, and in ethical crisis about my choices regarding eating chicken embryos for breakfast, I decided it’s the perfect time in my life to start dating again! Weeeeee…..

I was walking Huck home through the meadows one night when destiny (more commonly known as “Meadows Matt”) approached and stopped for a chat. He is tall, handsome, employed, and a dog lover. His “half Polish half French” accent is charming and he is really funny! We had a great chat about our favourite childhood cartoons (yes, from the 80’s, he’s age-appropriate!) as his Jack Russell was humping Huck’s face and parted after exchanging numbers. It was a perfect, organic, effortless meeting, the stuff of late 90’s RomComs.

The next week, Meadows Matt asked me to join him for a walk with our dogs. My ideal first date! I ran over to meet him right after class, excited to see what he looked like in the daytime. We hit it off right away: we were both wearing Converse All-Stars, mine were purple and his were black. The dogs were running around having a great time and the conversation flowed easily. Matt was funny and charming and just the right amount of flirty.

About 20 minutes into our walk, he brought up how difficult it is to meet people in a new city (we’ve both been in Edinburgh just over a year). I nodded and agreed, “We’re not a bunch of kids in the school yard anymore, making friends is hard.”Actually, it wasn’t particularly easy back then, either, if I remember right…

But, it was Matt’s next sentence that told me he was not talking about making friends, he was talking about finding love:

“Yeah, I meet up with all these dudes on Grindr, and all they want is sex.”

If you don’t know what Grindr is, here’s the link to a description of it on wikipedia.

At that point, I was glad the sun was setting, masking all the blood rushing to my face. I was on my first real date in a very long time and it was with a gay man. I recovered quickly, however, happy I hadn’t bothered to shave my legs or run back home to get my favourite lip gloss.

In the end, even without a kiss goodnight, it was one of the best dates I’ve ever been on. Matt and I really have a lot in common – we actually have very similar taste in men – and it’s kicked off a wonderful friendship. One of these days, we’ll be good enough friends for me to tell him I didn’t actually know he was gay when I first met him…not yet though…not yet.

And I did have so much fun on the date, I decided to put up an OK Cupid profile. I’m not taking it terribly seriously like I did when dating was my job. Honestly, this is the picture attached to my profile:

30blog1
I feel like it invites admirers to compliment my ass.

I have a date this week with a  man who is holding pigeons in his picture. I don’t know too much about him, but he falls into the “men looking for women” category, so I figure at least I have that going for me this time.

About ermodi

i like champagne and nachos. i watch people’s mouths move when they talk to me and judge if they are a good kisser i like to write with fine-tip Sharpies because i think it makes me look confident i bite my nails i think doing the dishes is a very lonely chore i think “autumn” is the prettiest word in the English language. i believe in love – or, at least something that resembles love, but i don’t trust this idea of forever.
This entry was posted in Animals, Dating or Something Like it, Edinburgh, Good Places to Meet Guys, Not Falling In Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whoa There, Cupid!

  1. Catherine Dixon says:

    I loved the Matt story! And I am so glad you now have a good friend to share walks with Huck! And the picture you picked for the Cupid link is adorable, just like you and your wonderful stories! Keep them coming!!

  2. TWM says:

    I wish you all the luck in this wild, scary arena! I feel at times we are as pilgrims in an unholy land; too weird, too rare and sometimes too specific in our tastes.

Comment Here!!!

